lydibug's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Smile!!

So.

Guess what happened to my cousin and me at dinner last night. You are never going to guess.

***********

***********

***********

***********

I was on phucking CANDID CAMERA.

***********

***********

Candid Fucking Camera.

Yeah. That�s right.

We arrived at dinner and had reservations for 7. It was about 7:30. My cousin, who is extremely prissy and girly and insists on being totally cute all the time, was not decked out in her Coach shoes avec matching purse this evening however. She had instead opted for flip flops, a jean skirt, her tacky new Dave M@thews Band shirt that she got to humor her boyfriend, and her TriDelt sweatshirt. To top it off, she'd had her hair up in a ponytail for most of the day/evening, and had that weird ponytail kink thing going on.

I was looking pretty cute though, I must admit. ;o)

"Just the two of you tonight, ladies?"

"yes"

"We've got a nice table waiting for you in the Lava Room"

Okay. cool. We go in and get seated in this corner next to a huge and beautiful fish tank. The lady tells my cousin not to sit in a certain chair because its a little wobbly. So she sits to the right of me. There's a piece of wood with a big rectangle cut out of it with a piece of paper saying "closed during construction" facing me dead on. It looks a little odd, but I go with it.

There's a guy sitting in the corner grubbin on a salad and some iced tea. My cousin and I both notice that the chopsticks he's using are really huge and we try not to stare. We make small talk. I divulge some very personal information about my past relationships... ya know, the usual.

A woman comes out and informs us that our waitress is going to be just a minute, and to compensate for the wait, we would receive a complimentary appetizer. Noodles with tomatoes and sesame something-a-rather. It was okay. Except for the fact that they gave us huge chopsticks to eat it with. My cousin, being a quarter Japanese, a quarter white, and half Filipino, pays no mind, grabs them, and begins to use them like its the friggin thing to do. I, on the other hand, was having trouble manipulating them. I actually had it down and at one point but decided it was completely asinine and put one of them down. I swirled the stupid noodles around just one of the chopsticks and chowed down. The whole time I was thinking, thank god nobody's watching us make fools of ourselves with these things.

The lady comes back out to see how we're doing, at which point we were going to ask for forks, but my cousin had pretty much chowed down on the whole thing so it was a lost cause.

"How are things?"

"Good, the chopsticks are just a little awkward."

"Oh really? The boss just brought them back from Hong Kong and thought they'd be more "ergonomically correct". But you don't like them?"

"Um, no. They're a little intimidating."

"Well. They look really funny on camera though."

**Blank Stares**

"You're on candid camera."

**Blank Stares**

"You're serious?"

"Yes. Look right over there..."

"Shit. (Turning Bright Ass Red) You have got to be kidding."

"Nope. Now so and so is going to come over and get you guys' names and adressess and have you sign a consent form and [bla bla bla]..."

Yes. That's right. Candid Camera.

And don't think I'm going to tell you when its supposed to air either.

But other than that the night was good. Good food and good drinks and we went and saw Wednesday's sister, Natasha, and all of her and Travis' GORGEOUS children, Dean, Presely, Troy and Audrey. Rad huh? This family is the most good looking group of people that you have ever seen in your life. Travis built them a gigantic house and the two of them are only 28 and 29. Gee whiz. They never fail to amaze me.

It was Audrey's birthday and my cousin got her Hell0 Kitty shoes. She adored them. Even when she put them on the wrong feet. Too cute.

I got home last night around midnight, but had to drive around the block 4 times looking for parking. I ended up parking behind my neighbors house. They haven't said anything yet. I feel awkward about it though. I need to go move it.

Okay. I'm off to enjoy my day off. Laundry, cleaning, and relaxing a little.

Bye.

10:51 am - Tuesday, August 13, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

actiongrl
jwinokur
damagedliver
ingressofme
lucky-doll
neko-carre
asteroidbelt
apunklilgirl
weeme
dharmabumgrl
Applerobot
Fifties-doll
heidiann
chubbychic
kamikazelife
Wyndspirit
Kats
Porktornado
Trousersnake