lydibug's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Santa Cruz

I must admit, living alone is kinda nice. I mean, sure, it gets a little quiet at times, but my kitties are around to make the place a little livelier. Those boys are characters. But all and all, as a really anal Virgo who has never lived by herself before, it�s actually quite nice. Everything is tidy and where I left it. Or, if there is a mess, it�s because of me and I can�t get all pissy with anyone else about it. This avoids conflict, and that�s good. I get to watch whatever I want to watch on television, be on the computer whenever I want, eat whenever I want, sleep whenever I want, for as long as I want� all and all, it�s a pretty good deal. I�m afraid I�m becoming even more anal because of it though. And that ain�t so good.

Ky was here this past weekend and I realized that sometimes, the company of someone so wonderful can make all of that just disappear. He�s so wonderfully productive and makes the place home. Without him, its my sanitary and sterile little place. That gets boring.

And that was my boring commentary on my lame observations for this morning. Moving on�

My shelves are awesome. I�ll post before and after pictures when I get home later. I put four of them, off set, on this big blank wall in my bedroom. Their whole purpose was to get some of the stuff out of my living room closet to so that I could take some more of the stuff that is still in boxes out. I selected one book from each of my little obsessions: an Elvis book, a Marilyn book, a James Dean book, a classic car book, and a 50�s teen culture book. That was the extent of the things I took out of the front closet. It freed up approximately <____________________> this much space. Yes, that�s right. About 2 inches. The rest was all decorative crap that I gathered up from around the house that had already been on display, but was now on display in a more appealing manner. I hate being counterproductive like that. Meh. But it still looks damn good. Again, I�ll post pictures later.

I didn�t feel like waking up this morning. I called into work with a headache and showed up around 10:30 instead. I look pretty cute though. I�ve rediscovered this old pair of shoes I bought about 5 or 6 years ago (for 5 bucks at Burlington Coat Factory, ew) that are super cute and ultra modern, not to mention amazingly comfy. They�re like weird witchy, modern little mary janes. Good grief, they�re cute. With my cute little mauve jeans and little black t-shirt. I feel very� New York. And still very tired.

Work has been soooooo slow latterly. Its ridiculous.

Another revelation: I�m probably going to move to Santa Cruz within the next 6 or 7 months. This is both happy and sad, good and bad. Santa Cruz is an AWESOME little beach town, but I just moved into my little apartment and got it all decorated and adorable. I just did all of that moving bullshit like changing my billing address everywhere and transferring all of my accounts and stuff. I haven�t gotten my new address on my driver�s license yet, nor have I gotten checks with my new address on them, but still. I really don�t like being uprooted so frequently. However, this would be a nice happy medium as far as education for me and commute time for Ky once he gets his firefighting job in Monterey. Compromises. Compromises. Sheesh. I like my shitty little town. I have a cute downtown apartment in a neat old Victorian building close to all the cute little pubs and very centrally located. Dammiiiiiiit. But I guess, in the grand scheme of things, everything happens for a reason and everything will work out just the way its supposed to. I think I�m just going to say �fuckit� this time and hire a moving company though. Moving is hard.


Santa Cruz.

This school thing is wearing on me though. Trying to locate a school in which I live that has a good program in something I want to do (design of the graphic or interior nature) is proving to be quite a difficult task. Why do I have to be so artsy farts? Why can�t I just do, I don�t know, business or something like my cousin? Why? Because that would just be too easy. Oh well. Such is life.

I also don�t like the thought of being too far from my family. Santa Cruz is only about an hour away. That�s doable. Any further and I would be sad. We�re close like that.

Anyone have any suggestions as to what I could do to pass time at work? I don�t want to wrap this entry up because upon completion, I�ll have nothing to do. But rather than continuing to babble, I will end this here.

11:28 am - Monday, Aug. 18, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

actiongrl
jwinokur
damagedliver
ingressofme
lucky-doll
neko-carre
asteroidbelt
apunklilgirl
weeme
dharmabumgrl
Applerobot
Fifties-doll
heidiann
chubbychic
kamikazelife
Wyndspirit
Kats
Porktornado
Trousersnake