lydibug's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Ain't that a kick in the head....

I'm loving life right now. It is an absolutely gorgeous day outside, I don't have school until 5 because my graphic design teacher is sick, I did an hour and a half in the gym, I've got time to eat and do homework and chill and last but not least, I've got one of my favorite CD's of all time playing. 'Wild Cool and Swingin' from the Ultra Lounge series.

Every time I pull this CD out I can't help but think of the Valentine's Day card that I had shoved in the CD booklet long long ago. It was one that Ray gave me.

It was tiny, like the little card that comes in flower arrangements, but it had its own little envelope. It had my name scrawled in boy writing across the front and inside was this little retro-graphic card that said, "Gee! You're Swell!" He had signed it "MEOW". He was my little Hillbilly Hellcat. Those were good times.

But yeah, this CD sure is Swingin! I think one of my favorite songs of all time is "More" by Bobby Darin. I don't know what it is about that song but its just fun and happy. Its addictive. Like Etta James' "At Last". Now that's a damn good song. This whole thing was prompted by Danny walking around singing his own stuffed up nose version of "Danke Schoen". Wayne Newton rocked.

So I didn't go to the last session of the Landmark Forum last night. Instead I opted to go out to a movie with the boy. We went and saw FRIDA. It was damn good. I just might have me a new favorite. Not movie, but female icon. You may or may not remember me doting about her in previous entries, but damn. This woman was AMAZING. If you haven't seen the movie, I highly recomend it. Its got Salma Hayek, Ashley Judd (another favorite of mine), Ed Norton (briefly), Antonio Banderas, and the guy who played 'Tenoch' in 'Y Tu Mama Tambien'. The the life of Frida was the best part. I know there was a lot of stuff added for Hollywood, but a lot of it was factual. This woman was truly inspiring.

So. What to do today. So much. There are of course lots of little errands I could run: get storage things from Home Depot, take Boo to get the last of his shots, take a bag of stuff to the Salvation Army, homework, cleaning, etc. But I don't think I want to do any of that. I think I'll go shower now and then maybe tidy up just a little. After that its what ever I want. Right now, I want food.

Food I shall go get.

12:04 pm - Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2003

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

actiongrl
jwinokur
damagedliver
ingressofme
lucky-doll
neko-carre
asteroidbelt
apunklilgirl
weeme
dharmabumgrl
Applerobot
Fifties-doll
heidiann
chubbychic
kamikazelife
Wyndspirit
Kats
Porktornado
Trousersnake